Ham HouseInterior design by Oliver Messel

Special Events

Special events are an important resource for Royal Oak's charitable efforts. Proceeds from these events support various initiatives ranging from American participation in the Attingham Summer School to furthering specific National Trust projects. Keeping our mission to "…inspire Americans to learn about, experience and support" the National Trust in the limelight attracts new members and corporate partners, making the Foundation a more robust organization overall. (It's also worth mentioning that our special events are great fun to attend!)

Timeless Design

The Timeless Design Award & Gala Benefit is Royal Oak's signature annual fundraiser hosted in New York City. Timeless Design was conceived over a decade ago to recognize outstanding individual achievement in American/British interior design. Previous recipients have included Lord Jacob Rothschild, Bunny Williams, Mary Fox Linton, and The Dowager Duchess of Devonshire.

Purchase tickets to Timeless Design 2013

The Heritage Award

In 2010, Royal Oak introduced the Heritage Award. This honor is to be given each year at the Timeless Design Award & Gala Benefit in recognition of institutions or individuals in Britain or the United States that have substantially advanced the understanding and appreciation of our shared cultural heritage.

Seeds for Thought

The Royal Oak Foundation celebrates the enduring legacy and excellence of the English landscape tradition in the Seeds for Thought lecture series, launched in 2001.

The brainchild of the late Leila Hadley Luce and former Royal Oak Director Renny Reynolds, the program seeks to highlight magnificent gardens and showcase the best English garden designers.

Seeds for Thought lectures in are held in select cities across the nation. Past speakers include Arne Maynard, Lady Mary Keen, Rosie Atkins, Fiona Heyward, Dan Pearson, Fergus Garrett, Christopher Bradley-Hole, Glyn Jones, Jinny Blom, and Lady Xa Tollemache.