• Timeless Design 2013

    Timeless Design Gala 2013 honored the Kravet family and the Winterthur Museum, Garden and Library

    The Royal Oak Foundation’s 16th annual Timeless Design Gala took place on Thursday¬†October 17 2013 at the Metropolitan Club in New York. Royal Oak presented the Kravet family with the Timeless Design Award, and the Heritage Award was presented to the Winterthur Museum, Garden and Library. This year’s Timeless Design Gala was also a focus for the Foundation’s 40th Anniversary celebrations.

    Thanks to all who supported Royal Oak at the 2013 Timeless Design Gala.

    Timeless Design Award Honoree

    The Royal Oak Foundation’s Board of Directors selected the Kravet family to receive the 2013 Timeless Design Award. Kravet Inc. is a global leader in decorative textiles and furnishings and patron of leading designers across the United States and the United Kingdom. Royal Oak honors the Kravets for the pivotal role they play in the Anglo-American design world and their enduring family legacy, started by Samuel Kravet in 1918. As the parent company of such historic and prestigious brands as Lee Jofa, G.P. & J. Baker, and Brunschwig & Fils, Kravet Inc. has become the standard-bearer for the legacy of international design, commitment to quality, attention to detail and superb craftsmanship. The company’s association with Cole & Son, Mulberry Home and Blithfield further testifies to its connection with the best of British design.


    Scott, Ellen, Lisa & Cary Kravet
    Scott, Ellen, Lisa & Cary Kravet


    Mulberry Home Country Weekend Collection
    Mulberry Home
    Country Weekend
    Images courtesy of
    Kravet Inc.

    In our 40th Anniversary year, it is particularly appropriate to honor the Kravets, who have supported the Foundation’s work through the licensed Royal Oak textile lines and sponsorship of the Timeless Design Gala. Previous recipients have included Julian Fellowes, David Hicks, Charlotte Moss, The Dowager Duchess of Devonshire, Lord Rothschild, Bunny Williams, and Mary Fox Linton. This marks the 16th anniversary of the Timeless Design Award, which recognizes outstanding achievement in British and American design and the stewardship of historic properties.

    Heritage Award Honoree

    Winterthur Museum, Garden & Library
    Winterthur Museum,
    Garden & Library
    Image courtesy of

    Royal Oak’s Board of Directors selected the Winterthur Museum, Garden and Library to receive the 2013 Heritage Award, which recognizes individuals or organizations in Britain and the United States that have substantially advanced the understanding and appreciation of our shared cultural heritage. In honoring Winterthur, Royal Oak recognizes the preeminent role that the institution plays in conserving and presenting American decorative arts for a global audience. As one of the world’s leading centers for the collection, conservation, and education of the public and specialists about the decorative arts and design, Winterthur’s mission aligns strongly with that of the National Trust. In our 40th Anniversary year, it is particularly fitting to honor Winterthur, with which Royal Oak has shared many connections and objectives over the decades. Past recipients include the Garden Conservancy; the Attingham Trust; and Richard Broyd, founder of the Historic House Hotels group.

    See event photos here.

    Created with Admarket’s flickrSLiDR.