Beauregard-Keyes House, New Orleans
Join Royal Oak as we explore 200 years of New Orleans’ architectural history through the lens of the diverse families and individuals who have called the Beauregard-Keyes House home.
The house was built in 1826 for Joseph Le Carpentier, a wealthy auctioneer, and designed by François Correjolles, who incorporated Creole details into the raised cottage-style residence. It is the only example of this New Orleans style that now is open to the public. Many people lived and worked at the house and have contributed to the stories that make up the fabric of this unique historical site.
The house, now owned by the Keyes Foundation, was established by the last resident who lived at the house from 1945-1970—author Frances Parkinson Keyes. She restored the house during her tenure, and created the Foundation to preservation both her house and adjoining parterre garden. During our digital tour, we will be invited to look inside this historic home to see the period rooms filled with objects original to the house.
Assistant Director Chris Fountain will talk about the house’s multi-layered history, and also show us the dependency buildings around the courtyard which include the original slave quarters above the kitchens. We will learn about these important spaces and their former inhabitants, who were most likely freed in 1864 when the Louisiana state constitution abolished slavery. Now, the building houses Frances Parkinson Keyes’ 1950s writing studio. Join Royal Oak as we look at a unique landmark that will further our understanding of New Orleans history.